webinar register page

Mythical Pasts, Fantasy Futures (Day 2 symposium)
Symposium Schedule

9:00 a.m. PT / 11:00 a.m. CT
Introduction

9:30 a.m.–11:00 a.m. PT / 11:30–1:00 p.m. CT
PANEL 1: THE STUFF OF FANTASY
Alexandra Alvis, “The Idea of the ‘Medieval’ Book in Magic: The Gathering”
Francesco Bernuzzi, “Heraldry and Fantasy Fiction”
Kristine M. Larsen, “Images of the Alchemical Laboratorium in the Medievalist World of The Witcher”

Break (30 minutes)

11:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m. PT / 1:30 p.m.–2:30 p.m. CT
LIGHTNING TALKS
Angelica Verduci, “Frank Dicksee, La Belle Dame Sans Merci, 1902”
Nadège Le Lan, “Stage set of Le Chevalier de Neige, opera by Georges Delerue and Boris Vian, 1957”
Ryan Linkof, “Gone Berserk: Frank Frazetta and the Pulp Fantasy of the Super Barbarian”
Susana Montañés-Lleras, “The Loom and the Fountain: Reading Edward Burne-Jones's The Garden Court”
Dayanna Knight, “The Binding of Fenrir, Lokasenna stanza 38"

Break (30 minutes)

1:00 p.m.–2:30 p.m. PT / 3 p.m.–4:30 p.m. CT
PANEL 2: ILLUMINATING IDENTITIES
Blair Apgar, “The Folly of the ‘Great Man Theory’ in Modern Medieval Media: Crusader Kings III”
Elisabeth Buzay, "An Illuminated Bande Dessinée?: The Sumptuous (Neo)medievalist Art of Cyril Pedrosa and Roxanne Moreil’s L'âge d’or"
Baylee E. Woodley, “What a Knight: Exploring the possibilities of anachronistic fantasy and cross-temporal drag"

Break (15 minutes)

2:45 p.m.–3:30 p.m. PT / 4:45 p.m.–5:30 p.m. CT
CONCLUDING DISCUSSION

Co-organized by the J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles and the Haggerty Museum of Art, Milwaukee.

Sep 9, 2022 09:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Getty Museum Talks.